Dr. Maher Hathout, director of the Islamic Center of Southern California and senior advisor of the Muslim Public Affairs Council in the US , states the following: “Alcohol that is cooked on the sause loses alcohol, and it doesn’t contain haram. However, I see that it is better to ask someone who is familiar with whatever food we are to consume.