Dr. Muzammil H. Siddiqi, former President of the Islamic Society of North America, states:
“The word Makruh literally means something “disliked” or “undesirable.” According to Shari`ah it is any action that one is told not to do without making it absolutely prohibited.
It is important to avoid doing that which is Makruh. There is no sin and no punishment if a person commits the Makruh, but it is blameworthy. Those who want to be pious and conscious of Allah should avoid doing any action that is Makruh.
According to Shari`ah, the actions are divided into five categories:
1- Fard or Wajib meaning obligatory or mandatory.
2- Mustahabb or Mandub meaning commendable or recommended.
3- Haram or Mahzur meaning forbidden.
4- Makruh meaning disliked and not recommended.
5- Mubah or Halal meaning permissible and allowed.”
Allah SWT knows best.