Regarding this issue, Dr. Main  K. Al-Qudah said:

The basic rule is that all edible and useful food or drink is Halal unless otherwise mentioned in the Quran, the Sunnah, or by the unanimity of the scholars.

As for the ingredients or spices such as cardamom etc., as long as they not medically proven to be harmful, which is most probably the case, they are not prohibited in Islam.